Ignition Locks For Refusal To Take Alcotest (Breathalyzer) Test In New Jersey
On January 14, 2010, the New Jersey legislature passed a bill known as “Ricci’s law” which required that drivers convicted of DWI and of refusal to submit to a alcotest (breathalyzer) test must have interlocks installed in thier car once their license suspension is over. The locks remain in place for a minimum of six months. These devices can cost hundreds of dollars to install and carry monthly fees of $50 to $100 to maintain.
The ignition only unlocks if the driver blows into a a tube attached to the dashboard and the reading from it comes up with alcohol levels below the legal requriement for DWI or .08.
The lesson here is simple; in New Jersey don’t drive drunk or your license will be suspended, you will be charged thousands of dollars in insurance surcharges and you will have to install this expensive interlock system.